New Look Team for SKYCITY Northern Knights
8th November, 2013

The SKYCITY Northern Knights have named a squad rich in batting and spin bowling depth to tackle the Otago Volts in their opening match of the HRV Twenty20 in Dunedin on Saturday night. 

A three-pronged spin attack is a strong possibility against the reigning champions with current Test leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and off-spinner Jono Boult joining champion Daniel Vettori to match it against the Volts. 

Vettori and Sodhi will also be instrumental in giving the Knights perhaps the longest batting line-up in domestic cricket. With BJ Watling currently free from BLACKCAPS duties, Vettori and Sodhi join Scott Styris and Scott Kuggeleijn as all-rounders in a formidable and deep batting order. 

Daniel Flynn takes over the captaincy of the Knights' Twenty20 team in 2013-14 from Styris. 

This is the first of a bank of four matches for the Knights, with a return home match against the Otago Volts at Seddon Park on Friday 15 November, followed by another home match on Saturday 16 November against the Devon Hotel Central Stags.  The first section of the campaign concludes with a trip to Wellington on 19 November. 

Joining the SKYCITY Northern Knights for these matches are Australian players Daniel Harris and Ben Laughlin.  Harris is a hard-hitting, dependable top order bat who is contracted to the Melbourne Renegades, while Laughlin is a fast-medium bowler who specialises in bowling at the crucial end of the innings.  He is currently contracted to the Hobart Hurricanes and the Chennai Super Kings. 

The Knights are without Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Anton Devcich and Corey Anderson who are either on BLACKCAPS duties or injured.  It is possible that Southee and Boult may return for the Knights’ home match against the Otago Volts. 

SKYCITY Northern Knights squad for Dunedin:

Daniel Flynn - Captain 

Bay of Plenty

Graeme Aldridge

Bay of Plenty

Jono Boult

Bay of Plenty

Daniel Harris

Overseas Player

Scott Kuggeleijn


Ben Laughlin

Overseas Players

Daryl Mitchell


Ish Sodhi

Counties Manukau

Scott Styris

Waikato Valley

Daniel Vettori


BJ Watling


Brad Wilson